The Old Burial Ground (now occupied by the Sydney Town Hall) was used between September 1792 and 1820, when it officially closed. Its replacement was the Sandhills Cemetery (Devonshire Street Cemetery), which later became the site of Central Railway Station. By the 1840s there were concerns about overcrowding and over the next twenty years a number of alternative locations were considered. In 1862 the government purchased 200 acres of land 'near Homebush on the Railway Line

Devonshire Street Cemetery, Also known as Sandhills Cemetery. All these graves had to be relocated to allow for the expansion of the Sydney Railway Station.

1890 - Circular Quay, Sydney. Check out the original ferry terminals to Manly and Watsons Bay and the horse-drawn carts as they grace the harbour foreshore to what is now the home to one of Sydney's most iconic buildings, The Opera House.

Circular Quay circa Check out the original ferry terminals to Manly and Watsons Bay and the horse-drawn carts as they grace the harbour foreshore to what is now the home to one of Sydney's most iconic buildings, The Opera House.

York St,Sydney in the 1930s.Photo from State Library of NSW.A♥W

Looking down York St towards the Town Hall in Sydney in the photo was taken approximately where Wynyard St is.Photo from Art Gallery of NSW.

Luna Park, Sydney. 1935

Luna Park in Sydney in when it first opened. Photo shared by the Sydney Morning Herald.

Nock & Kirby Store at 417 George St,Sydney in 1945.

Nock & Kirby Store at 417 George St,Sydney in 🌹

The construction of the Sydney Harbour Bridge,from Milsons Point on 6 August 1930. •State Archives of NSW•

The construction of the Sydney Harbour Bridge,from Milsons Point on 6 August 1930. •State Archives of NSW•

View from the Town Hall tower in Sydney in 1873.Looking across Hyde Park to the Museum and William St.

View from the Town Hall tower in Sydney in across Hyde Park to the Museum and William St.


More ideas
Pinterest
Search