NART Ferrari 412P driven to a 3rd place finish by Pedro Rodriguez and Jean Guichet 29 laps behind the 1st place factory Ferrari 330 N.23 at the Daytona 24 Hours in 1967

pin 2

Ferrari 330 P4 Beat Ford on its home soil to win the 1967 Daytona 24 Hours, but the GT40s were too strong at Le Mans.

pin 380
heart 26

40 cars from four categories will take to the famous banked circuit at 12:15pm EST (5:15pm GMT) for the 2017 Daytona 24 Hours on Saturday, 28 January. At the front of the field will be prototype racers that are equivalent to Le Mans LMP2 cars, and behind them will be GT racers, with the GTLM class (pictured) the fastest of this bunch.

pin 1

Hughes de Fierlant and Gustave Gosselin drove this Ferrari 512S at the 1971 Daytona 24 Hour Race.

pin 24

Ford qualified 1-2-3 in the GTLM class for the 2017 Daytona 24 Hours. Joey Hand took first in the #66 Ford GT, followed by Richard Westbrook and Olivier Pla in the #67 and #68 cars. Ferrari man Alessandro Pier Guidi topped the GTD class in the #51 Ferrari 488 GT3 leading Alessandro Balzan in the #61 Ferrari 488 GT3. Marco Sorensen rounded off the top 3 in GTD in the #98 Aston Martin Vantage.

The SunEnergy1 Racing Mercedes AMG GT3 is one of three entered in the GTD class at the 2017 Daytona 24 Hours. Australian driver Paul Morris will pilot the Sun Energy car as part of a quintet of drivers including former IndyCar turned GT driver Tristan Vautier, factory Mercedes AMG GT ace Maro Engel, and NASCAR pilots Boris Said and Australian Kenny Habul.

pin 1
Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas