Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas
from NPR.org

Mary Karr, Remembering The Years She Spent 'Lit'

The third of her memoirs...the others are "The Liar's Club" and "Cherry".

1
from Religion & Ethics NewsWeekly

April 30, 2010 ~ Mary Karr

"Lit" by Mary Karr, or anything, really, by her http://www.pbs.org/wnet/religionandethics/2011/03/04/april-30-2010-mary-karr/6188/

from BuzzFeed

12 Must-Read Memoirs To Get You Through Your Twenties

Fans of Karr’s Lit and The Liar’s Club will love her coming-of-age story in between: before a life of domesticity and substance abuse took hold of her, and after her intensely unstable childhood. Karr is a master observer, both of herself and the world around her, and reading her journey to breaking away from home as a teenager will move you in ways she hasn’t shown you before. —M.S.

9
1
from nytimes.com

Review: ‘The Art of Memoir,’ by Mary Karr, Is a Veteran’s Guide

Review: ‘The Art of Memoir,’ by Mary Karr, Is a Veteran’s Guide - NYTimes.com

What is wrong with this? So many things. 1. No girl should be sitting on her daddy's knee while showing her diagrams of the male & female reproductive systems. 2. If my embarrassed mother handing me a 20 year old out of date booklet on menstruation was good enough for me, then it's good enough for her. 3. Enduring awesomely bad, outdated sex ed films in biology class is a rite of passage for every one of us.

5
1