Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas

US Army enters through Guánica in 1898 to take possesion of the Archipelago of Puerto Rico according to the terms of the Treaty of Paris that ended the Spanish-American War.


Today in History - July 17, 1898: The Spanish surrender to the United States at Santiago, Cuba, ending the Spanish-American War. The Treaty of Paris is signed the following February, which gives the United States control of Cuba, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines.


1898: the Spanish-American War...On April 25, 1898 the United States declared war on Spain following the sinking of the Battleship Maine in Havana harbor on February 15, 1898. The war ended with the signing of the Treaty of Paris on December 10, 1898. As a result Spain lost its control over the remains of its overseas empire -- Cuba, Puerto Rico, the Philippines Islands, Guam, and other islands.


As a result of the Spanish American War of 1898, as per The Treaty of Paris, Spain ceded Puerto Rico, the Phillipine Islands and Guam to the U.S.A. On March 2, 1917, The Jones - Shafroth Act was signed granting collective U.S. citizenship to Puerto Ricans without rescinding their Puerto Rican citizenship. Puerto Ricans do not need Passports to travel between Puerto Rico and the U.S.A.



OVERVIEW When the U.S. won the Spanish-American War it annexed the former Spanish colony of Puerto Rico, as part of the December 10, 1898 Treaty of Paris. This ended four centuries of Spanish rule,…

With the 1898 Treaty of Paris, Isla de la Mona, was handed by Spain to the United States. On December 22, 1919 the island was declared an "Insular Forest of Puerto Rico", under the auspices of the U.S. Forest Law. | Puerto Rico ☀️


William Howard Taft Riding a Carabao during his term as Governor General of the Philippines, ca. 1900s In 1900, President William McKinley appointed Taft as the chairman of a commission to organize a civilian government in the Philippines, which had been ceded to the United States by Spain following the Spanish-American War and the 1898 Treaty of Paris.


On this day in History, Treaty of Paris ends Spanish-American War on Dec 10, 1898. Learn more about what happened today on History.

The Spanish-American War of 1898 was a conflict between the United States and Spain that ended Spanish colonial rule in the Americas and resulted in U.S. acquisition of territories in the western Pacific and Latin America by way of the Treaty of Paris. The Treaty of Paris was signed on Dec. 10, 1898. The image is a photograph of a battle in the Spanish-American War of 1898. National Archives identifier 598580