Australia - Hobart and Surrounds

Hobart is the capital of Tasmania. The city is located on the estuary of the Derwent River. The first settlement began in 1803 as a penal colony on the eastern shores of the Derwent River amid British concerns over the presence of French explorers, so that it is Australia's second oldest capital city after Sydney. The city was named after Lord Hobart, the Colonial Secretary. The population now is over 250,000. Mount Wellington is the dominant feature of Hobart's skyline.