Australian Rules - Carlton Football Club

The Carlton Football Club was formed in 1864 and competed with 6 other teams including Melbourne and Geelong for the Caledonian Challenge Cup. Carlton became a foundation member of the Victorian Football Association in 1877 and won 2 premierships. The club joined the breakaway Victorian Football League in 1897 and became the first club in the VFL to win 3 premierships in a row in 1906, 1907 and 1908. Carlton has won 16 VFL/AFL premierships, equal with Essendon as the most by any club.