Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas

At a time when speculative fiction seems less and less far-fetched, Margaret Atwood lends her distinctive voice and singular point of view to the genre in a series of essays that brilliantly illuminates the essential truths about the modern world. This is an exploration of her relationship with the literary form we have come to know as "science fiction, ” a relationship that has been lifelong

hink of your fiction like a clock, a marvel of mainsprings and wheels, pinions and pendulums. It's an extraordinary organization of diverse elements, channeling energy and tension into the regular coordination of action and reaction, rotating gears and moving hands. Oakley Hall , writing teacher emeritus, invites you as his apprentice to study fiction's inner workings, the pegs and screws upon which a good story depends. You'll find the elements of fiction examined and illuminated, with…

from The Verge

Here are the winners of the 2016 Hugo Awards

Yes, N.K. Jemison's newest epic is the kind of fantasy that has not one but two glossaries at the end — but reviewer Jason Heller says that just underscores her sumptuous detail and dimensionality.

Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card. I can remember the first time I read this one. Excellent story. Hollywood will be bringing a version of this book to film and Card just released a prequel called Earth Unaware.

Frank Herbert’s classic Dune is a weaving tale of political intrigue to rival the A Song of Fire and Ice series, but coated in a heavy mythos that makes it a must read for sci-fi fans: Ayden

Our favourite novelists make something thrilling out of the recognisable. They make real a story that, however unlike our own life it might seem, can reach the humanity common to us all -- that is the magic of the novel. "Faulks on fiction" takes a look at the British novel through its human characters -- the heroes, lovers, snobs and villains.

In the tradition of E.M. Forster's 'Aspects of the Novel' and Milan Kundera's 'The Art of the Novel', 'How Fiction Works' is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style.