Explore London Bygone Days, Blackfriars Bridge and more!

Explore related topics

Cecil Beaton took many photographs of bombed-out London, concentrating on the strange juxtapositions the debris provided.  This is 'The Letter', 1940.

Cecil Beaton took many photographs of bombed-out London, concentrating on the strange juxtapositions the debris provided. This is 'The Letter', 1940.

Blackfriars Bridge & St Paul’s; glass slides of aerial views from the collection of the London & Middlesex Archaeological Society at the Bishopsgate Institute a century ago.: http://spitalfieldslife.com/

Blackfriars Bridge & St Paul’s; glass slides of aerial views from the collection of the London & Middlesex Archaeological Society at the Bishopsgate Institute a century ago.: http://spitalfieldslife.com/

Built between 1605 and 1609, Northumberland House, centre, was one of the principal monuments of Jacobean architecture in London. It stood on the south-east side of Charing Cross, between the Strand and Whitehall with a garden leading down to the river and was newly refashioned around 1750. It was destroyed in 1874 to make way for the formation of Northumberland Avenue. Formerly known as Suffolk House it was owned by the Earl (later Dukes) of Northumberland - Museum of London

Built between 1605 and 1609, Northumberland House, centre, was one of the principal monuments of Jacobean architecture in London. It stood on the south-east side of Charing Cross, between the Strand and Whitehall with a garden leading down to the river and was newly refashioned around 1750. It was destroyed in 1874 to make way for the formation of Northumberland Avenue. Formerly known as Suffolk House it was owned by the Earl (later Dukes) of Northumberland - Museum of London

Pinterest
Search